Top Local Artist Moments of 2013 – Number 7

7. The New Groovement at at JazzFest 2013: It’s Alright (June 23, 2013)

I honestly had no idea what to expect going into this show. I had heard of none of the bands at this show, I was just looking for something to go to on a Saturday night so I didn’t have to stay home. So when I saw this 11-piece band squeeze onto the tiny stage at Lucky Bar to close out the night with everything from trumpets, saxes, trombones, guitars and a percussion session, I wasn’t sure what to expect. What I got was this awesome funk band that was…well, what the band describes their sound as. “… blends elements of R&B, soul, and hip hop to create a funk-i-fied feast for the ears”.

For more videos from this show, click HERE

The New Groovement: http://www.thenewgroovement.com/

<<<NUMBER 8||NUMBER 6>>>

Leave a Reply

